Transitioning from the BIM 360 Extended Access Program

CADD Care Blog Cover
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pocket
Share on email

The Autodesk BIM 360 Extended Access Program deadline is on June 30th, 2020, so there’s no time to wasteLet’s break down the vital information from the Extended Access Program Transition Guidance article into a couple of popular scenarios to help draft a plan for your current BIM 360 Trial hub.

“The Extended Access Program was our first time using BIM 360 – we did not have an account until then”

The Extended Access Program ends on June 30th, 2020; after this date, you will not be able to use BIM 360 without a subscription. In order to keep your data and continue working, you will need to do one of the following:

1. Download your data and continue to work offline
Time is of the essence. If you do not take action prior to June 30th, you will lose access to the data you have stored in BIM 360. The data will be not be deleted for another 30 days, but you will have to purchase a subscription to access it and/or continue to work on it. After that 30 days, the data will be gone.
CADD Microsystems has no backend capabilities with the BIM 360 Extended Access Program. We cannot retrieve your data, or grant you a longer trial to get it. If you don’t want to continue with BIM 360, then you must download your data. (Export or Download Documents | Managing & Exporting ‘Issues’ | Exporting Comments & Markups)
2. Upgrade your hub to a subscription and have full access

If you’d like to continue working with BIM 360, then you can convert your trial* to a paid subscription so that you don’t have to start the work you’ve done in your hub all over. Talk to your sales rep and give them your Trial Hub Account ID – let them know you want to upgrade your Trial Hub. (Find your Account ID)

*You cannot convert a program trial to a paid account on the Europe Data Center. If you need to switch servers, you will need to download your data (see link above) and create a new European Data Center BIM 360 account.

“We have two accounts: one is a trial and one is paid”

First, you need to decide if you’re going to continue on your paid hub and add the users you granted access to your projects via the trial. If you decide to add users, simply talk to your sales rep and give them the Account ID of your paid account. (Find your Account ID)

Once the purchase order has gone through and the seats have been added to the account:

  1. Assign the BIM 360 Entitlement in the Autodesk Account Management portal.
  2. Add members to the projects in your paid BIM 360 hub.

Hopefully, you were able to follow the advice in our last guide to using the program and kept data in one central location, on your paid hub. If not, there is no need to fear! If you need to move information from the trial to the paid account, you will need to download your data from the trial hub and manually add it to the paid account. (Export or Download Documents | Managing & Exporting ‘Issues’ | Exporting Comments & Markups)

Other Scenarios

What happens to data that I contributed to a project in a paid account?
Data that you worked on in a paid project will remain intact as long as the account is paid and the project isn’t deleted. You will need a paid seat to access that data, though. If your company is not planning on adding seats to their paid subscription to cover you, you may want to consider downloading your data for safekeeping (Export or Download Documents | Managing & Exporting ‘Issues’ | Exporting Comments & Markups).
I was affected by a bug that ended my trial early and needed to make a personal trial hub in addition to my company’s. What should I do?
Download your data (Export or Download Documents | Managing & Exporting ‘Issues’ | Exporting Comments & Markups). It is highly unlikely that companies will be upgrading personal hubs that were created out of necessity to grant access to the Extended Access Program. On June 30th, the hub will be locked and 30 days later the data will be deleted. Make sure you have the data you need to work once you are granted an entitlement and added back to the central hub. If you named your hub the exact same name as your company’s main hub, you may want to rename it to avoid confusion.
How to rename your BIM 360 Hub:
  1. Login to https://admin.b360.autodesk.com/
  2. In the top left corner, ensure you are on your trial hub/account.
  3. Go to the ‘Settings’ tab.
  4. Next to the name of the hub, select the pencil icon.
  5. Rename the hub and refresh the page (it may take a moment for the changes to update).

As always, if you have any questions regarding the steps above, the CADD team is happy to help. You can email us at helpdesk@caddmicrosystems.com, or call 703.924.5310.

Thanks for reading,

Eden Davis
CADD Care Helpdesk Team
Connect with me on LinkedIn

Have additional Questions?

If you have questions about the steps in this article, need additional guidance, or encounter technical support issues while completing the steps outlined here, please reach out to us!

Popular posts like this

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top